Recent News

posted Friday, January 31, 2014 - 12:56pm by Eli Fieldsteel

 The Atlantic Coast Conference Band Directors' Association (ACCBDA) has named doctoral candidate Eli Fieldsteel as the sole recipient of the 2014 James E. Croft Grant for Young and Emerging Composers, which offers up to twelve performances of the completed work. Fieldsteel's proposal is an interactive work for wind ensemble and electronics, to be delivered to the organization in November. The twelve schools that comprise the ACCBDA (Duke, Florida State, North Carolina State, and others) are home to wind ensembles and conductors who are among the most esteemed in the country.

posted Friday, August 16, 2013 - 1:45pm by Yevgeniy Sharlat

Several of our recent DMA graduates (some with an ABD status) are beginning their new teaching appointments this fall. Ian Dicke (DMA '12) is Assistant Professor of Composition (tenure-track) at the University of California, Riverside afer spending a year in Sweden on Fulbright. Zack Stanton (DMA '12) is Visiting Assistant Professor of Composition and Theory at  the University of Iowa. Steven Snowden (ABD) is joining the faculty at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology following his Fulbright stint in Portugal. Ethan Greene will be teaching music theory and technology at Tennessee State University. Hermes Camacho is on the faculty at the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio. And Luis Passos (DMA '11) is Assistant Professor of Music Theory/Composition at the Federal University of Campina Grande, Brazil. Hook 'em, people!

posted Monday, March 18, 2013 - 8:04am by Yevgeniy Sharlat

West Virginia Symphony will perform On the Shores of Qingdao by MM candidate Matthew Jackfert during their final subscription concert of the 2013-2014 season. Jackfert's work shares the spotlight with Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. 

posted Monday, March 18, 2013 - 7:57am by Yevgeniy Sharlat

Lake George Music Festival's composition competition announced its results, and the winner is UT alum Robert Honstein. Current MM student Egemen Kesikli is one of three finalists this year. It should be noted that all submissions were anonymous. 

posted Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 8:02pm by Yevgeniy Sharlat

 The selection committee for the 2013 SCI National Coference has  chosen Aurora Borealis to be performed on the gala concert (Concert XII) of the conference -- February 16th, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. in Weigel Auditorium in the OSU School of Music.  The Ohio State University Symphonic Band under the direction of Prof. Scott Jones will perform the work.