Recent Awards

01/28/2017 - 11:11am

Thomas Yee's presentation "When Music Speaks" on the topic of Music and Meaning has been selected as one of three featured presentations for the Society of Composers, Inc. Region VI Conference. Additionally, his composition "Kristallnacht" will be performed on one of the conference's concerts. This year's conference will take place at UT Arlington from February 2-4, 2017 and feature new music from 55 living composers for a variety of chamber ensembles and instrumentations.

08/24/2015 - 10:21am

Hayman's UT master's thesis COMRADES for orchestra impressed the IDCC judges who invited Jeff to attend the final round in Prague. He was locked up alone in a room and asked to produce two pieces, one of which, based on Dvorak's music, was later awarded a Special Prize. Jeff came in third in the senior competition and was the only American composer to be a winner this year. Congrats, Jeff!

08/24/2015 - 10:11am

Ian Dicke (UC Riverside faculty) and Sam Pluta (Manhattan School of Music faculty) were among the six composers to receive have their commissions funded by the Barlow Foundation. Ian will write a work for the PAUSE ensemble; Sam's piece will be composed for flutist Anne La Berge. Congrats, guys!

05/26/2015 - 11:43am

Brian Heim (BM in Composition '14) was awarded the Leo Kaplan Award, which is the grand prix of Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The winning composition Two Portraits from Moby-Dick was written last year at UT and premiered by the UT New Music Ensemble, conducted by Dan Welcher. The piece was spotlighted at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards ceremony at Merkin Concert Hall in New York on May 21, 2015.

05/01/2015 - 11:25am

Yuanyuan (Kay) HE's orchestral piece "Passeig de Grácia" was selected for reading at the 24th Annual Underwood New Music Readings & Commission by the American Composers Orchestra (ACO). This event will take place on Wednesday, May 6 and Thursday, May 7, 2015 at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music in New York City.

09/01/2014 - 4:59pm

Michael Mikulka’s composition “To Throw” was chosen as the Grand Prize winner of the 2014 PARMA Student Composer Competition.  It was performed by Redline Brass Quintet, and opened the “Main Event” concert of the 2014 PARMA Music Festival on August 16th.  The PARMA Music Festival occurred from August 13th-16th in Portsmouth, NH, and featured 14 concerts of (primarily) new music.

03/31/2014 - 8:20am

 Brandon Scott Rumsey's (MM '14) Limelight has been awarded 2nd prize, for performance at the 8th Annual Belvedere Chamber Music Festival in Memphis June 18-21, 2014. Two selections were made from 144 scores. Congrats, Brandon! 

03/18/2013 - 7:57am

Lake George Music Festival's composition competition announced its results, and the winner is UT alum Robert Honstein. Current MM student Egemen Kesikli is one of three finalists this year. It should be noted that all submissions were anonymous. 

11/06/2012 - 8:02pm

 The selection committee for the 2013 SCI National Coference has  chosen Aurora Borealis to be performed on the gala concert (Concert XII) of the conference -- February 16th, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. in Weigel Auditorium in the OSU School of Music.  The Ohio State University Symphonic Band under the direction of Prof. Scott Jones will perform the work.